Pick me up

I’ve been in a sort of a slump lately. As you can tell from my previous post, I was bitter and angry. It’s kind of a roller-coaster ride, these ups and downs. I can blame it on moodiness. I can blame it on other people. But it’s all me.

It’s up to me to turn that around, so I’m going to do it. I need to get my ass back to the gym and get those endorphins pumping. I’m going to finally join a damn book club like I’ve been telling myself for months. I get tons of Meetup updates, but they go to the trash either after 1 look or without a glance at all. And I need to keep on writing. I noticed the last 2 weeks my posts were pure crap. I could blame it on the fact that I was uber busy, but it was still me doing the writing. Crap.

What I need is a pick me up.

I got a slight pick me up yesterday after I got some leads for a new gig I’m working on (sorry to be so vague). That definitely perked me up. Also eating my favorite Thai food… that definitely helped too. Smoothing things out with my hubby after my personal annoyances calmed down was the best pick me up of all!

People always say “things could be a lot worse”. It’s so true. But I don’t always think that when crappy things continue to happen to me. I don’t stop and tell myself that “things could be a lot worse” because at that very moment, I’m drowning in self pity and can’t open my eyes to anything else around me. And I know I’m not alone here.

As a fellow blogger so nicely posted, you have to find ways to make/keep yourself happy and uplifted. Whether it’s stepping out of your element and daily routine, or doing something good for others.

To be quite honest, all this happy talk is making me sick. I feel like I should be riding around on unicorns and sliding down rainbows in my pigtails while singing happy songs and drawing smiley faces in the clouds. I feel like puking right now.

One step at a time… one pick me up at a time.

7 Responses

  1. I’ve enjoyed your ‘crappy’ posts. LOL

    And this graphic is TERRIFIC!

    BTW: I play the “It Could Be Worse Game” all the time. Just call me Pollyanna. : )

  2. I did some shoe shopping at lunch… that always seems to do the trick for me. A little retail therapy goes a long way. 🙂

    • Omg yes.. retail therapy definitely is my answer several times a month… my husband always sighs when I come home with a shopping bag, but the smile on my face makes it all better 😉

  3. Believe me, riding around on unicorns isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Really like the honesty of your post. It’s hard to pop right out of bitterness.

    Thanks for checking out Some Species Eat Their Young last week. I appreciated your comment.

    And have a great Labor Day, wherever you end up.

Leave a Reply

