Why I love Indian Weddings

For the past several years, I’ve noticed that weddings are becoming more and more extravagant. The bride and groom find their own unique way to stand out from other weddings, especially Indian weddings, which tend to be quite similar in regards to the festivities and customs.

I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of going to weddings… the decor, the outfits, the music, the food… I love it all!

Although a lot of people will disagree with me, I actually really love the combination of traditional and western customs at Indian weddings.. The whole concept of bridesmaids and groomsmen at traditional Hindu ceremonies is fairly new, just a couple of years old I would say. And I love seeing bridesmaids in matching sarees or saree dresses and groomsmen in matching kurta-pajamas.

I attended a wedding of one of my dearest friends this weekend… she married a Christian Indian boy (yes they do exist – not all Indians are Hindu) in an outdoor by-the-water Christian ceremony. Her caramel colored skin against a gorgeous white bridal gown was simply stunning! And she went with a modern style saree at the reception, which was just breathtaking! Nowadays, very few brides were sarees at the reception and would rather go with a lengha which tends to be more comfortable to dance all night in, as was the case with me anyway.

Indian weddings are filled with color, music, and culture. I don’t think I’ve ever been to one that doesn’t have someone unique that makes it stand out from the rest…

My friend’s husband rode in on a camel in Houston. Even I was amazed! The norm is a white horse, so he definitely went way beyond.

My cousin had her reception at a loft in Manhattan which was an amazing setting, one I’ve never seen before! Beautiful and elegant with white chairs, candles everywhere, and red roses as centerpieces. Simply stunning.

My friend this weekend had an outdoor ceremony on the water and the reception also on the water, with sweeping views from the hall. Talk about an amazing and picturesque setting for pictures, dinner, and dancing!

My husband and I were invited to 16 weddings year and attending 12. Whew. 8 down, 4 more to go. Talk about having your work cut out for you. Not to mention having to repeat outfits over and over again, which I hate doing but don’t have a choice 😦

But I love seeing the stunning brides in their amazing outfits, the intricate henna/mehndi and the breathtaking decor.

And of course those crazy lovebirds getting married 🙂 that’s the best part!

2 Responses

  1. Delightful post, PB&J.

    Be careful you don’t give away too many clues as to your secret identity behind that veil. : )

Leave a Reply

