Hip Thrust, Bounce to the beat, Do the light bulb!

Ever since I was 10 years old, or possibly even younger, I’ve had a passion for dancing! Not just the usual dancing at clubs and what not, although that’s also a great time, but Bollywood dancing.

Typical families don’t teach their daughters to shake their hips at an early age, or ever for that matter. But since Indian movies were a big hit in my family, sitting up close to the TV and going to the movie theater for new releases back in India, the songs were the best part of the movie for me. Trying to copy the dance moves and imitate the actresses was the best, especially the hip thrust. That’s the main move!

The plot in these movies is always the same – girl and boy fall in love, parents of the girl say no, girl runs away with boy, parents give in, and they live happily ever after. All portrayed by song(s). The dance steps are always cheesy, but you can’t stop watching! (Nowadays, some Bollywood movies have really been amazing – great message – great songs – and great dances!) But back in the day…

And you notice how the girl turns away when the boy goes to kiss her? Yep, that’s how it works in Bollywood movies. See my previous post on this.

Chris Kattan recently did a Made for TV movie called Bollywood Hero, in which I thought he did an EXCELLENT job with his dance moves… well not initially:

But he definitely got better! 😉

So naturally, reinacting these songs at weddings is a must. At my wedding, the move that stuck with my non-Indian friends was “do the lightbulb” seen at the end of this video:

After much practice and picking up dance moves from the movies, the final result can sometimes be mind blowing… this girl is bloody amazing!

I would show you guys some of my dances, but then I’d give myself away and I can’t do that, now can I??

4 Responses

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  2. Isn’t that you in the bottom video??? : )

Leave a Reply

