The Boob Tube

Why are people so drawn to the damn television? I don’t mean catching your favorite shows here and there, but just watching for the sake of watching. Having it on in the background, sleeping to it, waking up to it, and not turning it off and walking away!! Doesn’t the light and sound just get to you after a while??

Yes you should stay informed on the news and current events. Absolutely. No doubt about it there. But just zoning into the screen and not even really “watching” the show… that has GOT to be bad for your brain cells, and your eyes!

This morning, I watched my husband as he was staring at the TV and getting dressed (don’t worry kids, this is G rated). The amount of time he took to put on his pants, button his pants, put on his shirt, slowly button his shirt… it could have been cut in half if he wasn’t glued to the TV. I kid you not… I wanted to yell out “hurry up already!!” And he wasn’t watching anything super exciting – it was the news.

And on top of that, if you’re in front of your computer screen all day, how can you come home and sit in front of the TV for 2-4 hours? Just writing about the thought of it drives me insane!!! My idea of relaxation after coming home from work is curling up on the couch with a good book, or listening to some music. I don’t think about turning on the TV as soon as I get home, or as soon as I get up, or as soon as I get in bed.

I know, my husband is going to hate me for this entire post. I’m not upset about the whole thing (although I did get a little attitude-y last night about the TV constantly being on)… I just don’t understand the fascination of it all – again of the concept of constantly having the TV on – NOT about watching your favorite shows and what not, because that would be a double standard on my part as I am totally guilty of having my fav shows in the fall that are must-see-tv.

But at least now I get why they call it the boob tube.

9 Responses

  1. Excellent post. I agree with you . . . I like watching a few shows ~ comedies, dramas, etc.

    I enjoy watching movies at home with the Pause button for snacks and bathroom breaks.

    But during the day, I never even think of watching TV. And in the evening, if there’s “nothing on” that I want to watch, I don’t even pick up the remote.

  2. yes! i totally agree. we only have the TV on at home if we’re going to watch a movie or view pics, haha. i think the tv adds confusion and distractions and yes, when i’ve been sitting in front of the computer screen for 8 hours i def do not want to continue staring at a screen with sounds protruding from it!

  3. I just cancelled my cable today. I still have the Netflix that I can stream and when Glee comes back on, I’ll watch it online, but there is just no need for it. I’m making it a point to shut off the TV and read – or – GASP! get my ass on the treadmill. 🙂

  4. I’ve been thinking the same thing, canceling my subscription to the idiot box! The only time it is on these days is if I’m watching ShowTime or my pup needs some white noise to not run wild on the couch…. To top it off, those fugly people at Optimum are charging us a whopping 200$ a month! Wii & Netflix it is for my entertainment very soon!

  5. We have a tv, but it’s not connected to an aerial, so we don’t get tv and don’t miss it. The kids use it to watch dvd’s and we get a movie from time to time. Now that we haven’t had tv for quite a while, I wonder how people find the time?
    I keep up with news online. I enjoy my evenings reading, or wasting my spare non-tv time on the internet.

    • I’m seriously shocked at the amt of people who are capable of being without their TVs… I’m not hooked by any means, but I do have my seasonal shows that I HAVE to see… good for you!! I would be in heaven with the amt of things I could do without a TV in the house. I wouldn’t even know where to begin!!

Leave a Reply

